CWFHC CWFHC

Nicolas Vachon

2020 Pan American Championships

Q1: What was the first competition where you represented Team Canada? When was it?

My first experience at the international level was the Pan American Championships in 2014 that were in Santo-Domingo, DOM

Q2: Did you compete in other sports before weightlifting? If yes, which ones and at what level?

No, weightlifting is the only sport that I have done since I was 8 years old.

Q3: Why do you compete in weightlifting?

I have a passion for the sport and I love the feeling that I get when I’m on the platform and testing my limits

Q4: What do you most enjoy about training?

I enjoy being able to continually improve my physical and mental abilities even after 15 years in weightlifting

Q5: What do you enjoy the least about training?

The injuries that almost certainly come with competing at a high-level in sport

Q6: What are your short term goals for weightlifting (1-2 years)?

In the short term I want to beat the Canadian Records for clean and jerk and total in the 81kg category.  I also want to be in the top 3 at the Commonwealth Games in 2022 and get a medal this time.

Q7: What are your long term goals for weightlifting? (3 + years)

I want to qualify for the Olympics in Paris in 2024

Q8: What has been your proudest moment in weightlifting?

When I was named to Team Canada for the 2018 Commonwealth Games.  The previous 2 years were difficult between 2015 and 2017.  I was frequently injured and my performances suffered.  I went to Australia in September 2017 for the Commonwealth Championships which was the last qualification event.  At that competition I went 6/6 and improved my best total by 22kg and secured my place on the National Team.

Q9: What are your top 3 achievements in weightlifting so far?

Number 1. 4th at Commonwealth Games in 2018

Number 2. Competing at the Senior World Championships in 2019

Number 3. 2 National Champion Titles and 3 Runner up finishes

Q10: Are you currently studying or working in addition to your weightlifting career? If yes, what are you doing?

I am currently studying construction project management at ÉTS (École de Technologie Supérieur)

Q11: What are your plans after your weightlifting career is over?

I want to work in project management in the construction industry. I intend to build and acquire several income properties over the years. I would also like to have a family and pass my passion for this sport on to the next generation.

Q12: Who is your weightlifting role model and why?

I would say my role model has always been my father / coach. He introduced me to weightlifting and who showed me the value of hard work, discipline and perseverance. Being younger, I really wanted to beat the best performances he had done at the time. This motivated me to train for several years to achieve this goal.

Coach: Mario Vachon

Weight Category: 81 kg

Favourite Lift: Clean and Jerk

Hometown: Saint-Hippolyte